SEAtrails annual meeting

Tuesday, April 08, 2008

On Tuesday, April 15th at 6 PM the SEAtrails board will conduct the annual meeting. The public is welcome to participate. Contact [email protected] to find the location for the teleconference call-in from your community.


Board members conclude Sitka meeting with a short hike.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Ron Crenshaw, the President of the Board of Directors of SEAtrails checks out the dock on Heart Lake while on a hike after the board meeting in Sitka.

Labels: ,

SEAtrails board meeting in Sitka

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

The SEAtrails board of directors will be meeting with the McDowell Group to continue work on the business and marketing plan for the system. The meeting will be held in Sitka on October 21 and 22.


SEAtrails board meeting in Ketchikan

Sunday, July 15, 2007

The public is invited to the next SEAtrails meeting at the Southeast Discovery Center in Ketchikan, Monday and Tuesday July 30 and 31. They will discuss their Business and Marketing Plan. Contact: Odin Brudie, Alaska Department of Commerce in Juneau, 907-465-5466. Draft agenda in Word format.


SEAtrails holds first meeting as a non-profit organization

Monday, March 10, 2003

A slate of candidates was advanced by the Steering Committee to make up the founding Board of Directors for SEAtrails. The nominees accepted the appointments (Frankie Pillifant by phone) with the following staggered terms. All Steering Committee members present approved the board appointments. Jack Mosby moved, Buckwheat seconded the motion to appoint the board as follows. All present were in favor.

Davey Lubin, Sitka 2 years
Buckwheat Donahue, Skagway 1 year
Amber Guy, Douglas 2 years
Frankie Pillifant, Juneau 3 years
Elaine Price, Coffman Cove 1 year
Ryan “Zieak” McFarland, Petersburg 1 year
Kathie Wasserman, Pelican 3 years
Jack Mosby (at Large), Anchorage 3 years
Karen Peterson, Thorne Bay 2 years

Elaine Price moved, Karen Petersen seconded the motion, to nominate Davey Lubin for Board Chairperson, all in favor.

Davey Lubin moved, Amber Guy seconded the motion to nominate Frankie Pillifant for Board Vice Chairperson, all in favor.

Davey Lubin moved, Elaine Price seconded the motion to nominate Amber Guy for Board Secretary/Treasurer, all in favor.


SEAtrails board meeting in Juneau

Wednesday, August 01, 2001

Alaska Juneau Communications – KINY Radio News

The second annual regional meeting of Southeast Alaska Trail System, otherwise known as SEAtrails, is being held in Juneau this Friday and Saturday. SEAtrails’ goal is to connect existing and planned trails, that are locally managed, to form a continuous route connected by the ferry system.

Organizer Davey Lubin says the trail system, linked together by the Marine Highway, would make Southeast Alaska a world class adventure travel destination. He says the project was started with the hope of enhancing small scale economic development within Southeast communities. The other two major goals include providing an impetus for improving and expanding ferry service, and improving the quality of life for local residents through business and outdoor recreational opportunities.

The agenda for the two day meeting is a full one, with several panel discussions focusing on how SEAtrails will work for local communities. There will be several guest speakers including the Chief Planner for the San Francisco Bay Trail Project, Laura Thompson. She’s scheduled to speak Friday at 10 a.m.

Interested local citizens, Southeast community representatives, and state and federal officials with state will gather at the CBJ Assembly Chambers from 8-30 to 5 Friday and Saturday. The meeting is open to the public.


Davey Lubin selected as Alaska’s American Hiking Society 2001 volunteer of the year

Saturday, June 02, 2001

National Trails Day honors local volunteer dedicated to trail preservation

More than any other recreational or cultural resource in America, the success story of trails in the United States has been written by volunteers. For the seventh year, American Hiking Society conducted a nationwide search and has proudly announced local SEAtrails founder Davey Lubin as the winner of this year’s American Hiking Society Volunteer of the Year Award for the state of Alaska. The Volunteer of the Year Award honors volunteers for their tireless efforts to preserve and maintain America’s trails.

American Hiking Society, a national recreation-based conservation organization, was established in 1976 and is dedicated to establishing, preserving and maintaining footpaths in America.

Labels: ,


Follow SEAtrails news