New round of grants announced

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Southeast Alaska Trail System (SEAtrails Inc.) today invited grant applications for trail and trail-related projects in Southeast Alaska.

“We plan to address on-the-ground trail projects and signage with our second round of trail grants,” says Ryan McFarland, SEAtrails board chair. “We will award grants based on how closely the project aligns with the SEAtrails Trails and Transportation Master Plan, the SEAtrails Capital Improvement Plan and other criteria.” PDFs of both plans and the criteria list are posted on the SEAtrails website, Grant recipients will operate under a reimbursable agreement in partnership with the Organized Village of Kasaan.

The application deadline is December 1st 2008.

Application forms are available online at in the grants area or by contacting Jesse Donner, SEAtrails coordinator, at [email protected], 907.747.4237.

SEAtrails collaborates with organizations, groups and agencies to attract independent travelers, ecotourists and other visitors to Southeast Alaska. SEAtrails works with Alaska’s Marine Highway System and the Inter-Island Ferry Authority (IFA) to promote this dependable and enjoyable mode of travel between communities throughout the region.

The 19 SEAtrails member communities include Angoon, Coffman Cove, Craig, Gustavus, Haines, Hoonah, Hydaburg, Juneau, Kake, Ketchikan, Naukati, Pelican, Petersburg, Sitka, Skagway, Thorne Bay, Whale Pass, Wrangell and Yakutat. SEAtrails is a 501(c)3 non-profit run by a nine-member volunteer board spread throughout Southeast Alaska.



Follow SEAtrails news